highresdwnld2_edited.jpg

kelly Mulligan

Owner

K-12 Core Subjects

Early Financial Education

Communications

Organization | HW Help

Hello! My name is Kelly Mulligan.

 

I have dedicated 12+ years to working with more than 200 students in K-12 core academic subjects, particularly math and English.

 

Additionally, I work with students in building their confidence and preparing them for upcoming tests and projects through organizational strategy and prioritization. I have a background in education, business, and communication studies.

 

I have worked globally as an ESL teacher in South Korea, a Business Communications lecturer at the University of Economics and Finance in Vietnam, and a high school English teacher in Raleigh, NC.

 

Currently, I own and operate Mulligan Tutoring Services, where I continue to work as a full-time tutor, catering individualized lessons to all of my students. 

 

Hobbies: I love to travel and try food from all over the world, I like to write short stories, and I love to try some of the more extreme sports such as skydiving, bungee jumping, and scuba diving.

 

Fun Fact: I was an acrobat!

alexa jaffe.jpg

Alexa Jaffe

K-12 Spanish
HW Help | Organization

¡Hola y Bienvenidos! My name is Alexa Jaffe.

 

I am a Spanish Language & Literature major at NC State University. I am passionate about teaching the language to students K-12+.

 

What started out as just a requirement to graduate high school eventually turned into an integral part of my future career! I love teaching at all levels - from beginners to those just needing some extra practice outside of school.

 

The majority of my background stems from assistance with Spanish Immersion elementary school curriculum, Spanish 1 and 2 (high school), and the building blocks of conversational skills.

 

In my free time (“tiempo libre” as my students hear me say), I love hanging out with my cat, Milo, traveling, and going to the beach!

Adam_Bolton.jpg

Adam
Bolton

Math & Science

K-12, AP Stats, Calculus, Physics

SAT | ACT Test Prep

Hello! My name is Adam Bolton.

 

I’ve been working as a tutor at Mulligan Tutoring Services since 2019. I received my B.S. in math and physics from Michigan State University and my M.S. in statistics from NC State University where I’m currently working on my Ph.D.

 

I’m passionate about teaching math and science (particularly physics) at all levels of expertise. I’ve been teaching math for 7 years in a variety of settings – ranging from college calculus to the core K-12 curriculum. Regardless of the subject level, I aim to inspire self-confidence and intellectual curiosity within every student I work with, and I am passionate about helping students achieve their educational goals. 

 

Hobbies: I love all things baseball and love watching the Detroit Tigers! I also enjoy reading and running. 

 

Fun Fact: I’ve worked at NASA!

Kaseycolcombe.jpg

Kasey Colcombe

Math

K-12, Statistics, Calculus

Hello! My name is Kasey Colcombe.

 

I have been tutoring students since 2013 in math courses ranging from pre-algebra through masters courses in statistics. I enjoy contributing to student success by focusing on understanding the fundamentals. I have worked as a tutor throughout college in structured weekly meetings, drop in tutoring, and as a teaching assistant. Needless to say, I love math! I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Kent State University in 2018 and have worked as an Actuary since then where I continue to take math intensive exams. So I can certainly understand where my students are coming from! 

 

Hobbies: Since moving to Raleigh, I’ve made it my goal to try as many new restaurants as possible so please send suggestions! I’ve played hockey since I was 5 years old, played in college, and still play for fun twice a week. I enjoy hiking, traveling, and rock climbing as well.

 

Fun Fact: I trained with Vince Trocheck back in Pittsburgh before he went pro!

20190402113824.jpg

LIZ Bolton

K-12 Core Subjects

College Admissions Essay

HW Help | Organization

SAT | ACT Test Prep

Hello! My name is Liz Bolton.

 

I am a Ph.D. candidate in Civil Engineering at NC State University and have tutored students part-time for over 15 years in K-12 core academic subjects, as well as college math and engineering courses.

 

I have received multiple prestigious fellowships during my tenure at NC State (including the Fulbright Student Research Grant and the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship), and particularly enjoy helping students draft and revise college, scholarship, and fellowship application essays.

 

In my previous career, I worked as a South Asia analyst for the Department of Defense, which included tours in Afghanistan and in the Pentagon.

 

I currently work with Mulligan Tutoring Services as a part-time tutor, helping students gain confidence and improve their mastery of subject material.

Hobbies: I love traveling and learning languages because I love being able to chat with and learn from people from all walks of life. I also enjoy gardening, crafting, and weightlifting.

Fun Fact: I speak five different languages!

robert_gibson.jpg

Robert
Gibson

Math, English & Social Studies
Writing, Literature, Reading Comprehension
HW Help | Organization

Hi! My name is Robert Gibson.

 

I have 5+ years of experience working with students in K-12 students in Math, English and Social Studies. I also work with students to help grow their test taking abilities and organizational/note-taking skills. I hold an Undergraduate History degree  from UNC-Chapel Hill (Go Heels!) and a Master’s degree in Secondary Teaching from UNC-Charlotte. I have been working in education professionally since I graduated in 2018. I have worked as a literacy instructor and mentor for elementary school students, and as a mathematics and organization tutor for high school students at Chapel Hill High. I have taught 7th Grade Social Studies for three years and currently I am moving on to teach 7th and 8th Grade Mathematics. 

 

Hobbies: I love to travel and learn about different cultures and histories. I love reading sci-fi and fantasy stories and I’ve been playing D&D since I was 10 years old.

 

Fun Fact: I was a member of a twitch gaming team in college

 

Ufroz Ayyub.jpg

UFROZ
AYYUB

Science, ELA & Math
(Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Physical Science, Earth Science, Writing, Literature, Algebra I & II, Geometry)
HW Help | Organization

Hello! My name is Ufroz Ayyub.

 

I have dedicated 5+ years of teaching and tutoring junior and senior high school students, focusing on math, science (bio, chem, physics, earth science), and writing/English.

 

My teaching style is based on building confidence and understanding consistently through a combination of repetition, practice, and open discussion so that each student can reach his/her maximum potential. I have a bachelor’s and master’s degree in the biological and physical sciences and a passion for life-long learning. I have worked globally as a high school biology teacher in Thailand, as well as having tutored math and science in New York City. 

 

Hobbies: I love to travel and try food from all over the world.

Fun Fact: I have been to more than 30 countries!

morgan.jpg

Morgan
lennon

ELA & Science
(K-12, Essay Writing, Grammar, Biology, Statistics)
HW Help | Organization

Hello! My name is Morgan Lennon.

 

In the past year, I have deeply enjoyed teaching K-12 English and Reading to students in the RDU area. I specialize in working with students to build their creativity, critical thinking, and organizational skills. As a recent alumnus of NC State University, I have a background in Biology, Statistics, English, and general health sciences. During the summer of 2019, I gained student leadership experience while mentoring 26 high school students as we toured 8 European countries. This work solidified my enjoyment of student leadership and prompted me to seek more opportunities to engage with students. In addition to my global expertise, I have a deep love for North Carolina after specializing in K-12 education policymaking for the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. Currently, I work full time as an Environmental Epidemiology Researcher where I study the potential effects of PFAS chemicals on human health.

 

Hobbies: I love to travel, visit National Parks, read, go to concerts, and spend time with friends!
 

Fun Fact: I play the mandolin!